There are a number of reasons I love the winter. Besides the fact that it is cold and I feel like I can breathe, it is the time to build fires in the stove, take long walks in the woods, and make lots and lots of soup. My mainstay is usually tomato/beef/vegetable, but it is time to try some new ones.

One I have been wanting to try is Chicken Tortilla Soup. There are plenty of recipes out in the blogosphere and in magazines for it, but I have a friend who grew up in Laredo, Texas, and this is the recipe she uses, and her mom before her used.

    2 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cubed or stripped, cooked
    2 cups water
    1 can chicken broth
    1 can beef broth
    1 14.5 ounce can tomatoes { I had a jar of home crushed}
    1/2 cup chopped onion
    1 can corn, drained
    1/4 cup chopped green pepper {left out, MH not a fan}
    1 tsp chili powder
    1/2 tsp ground cumin
    1/8 tsp fresh ground black pepper
    Tortilla Chips, coursely crushed {Made my own from corn tortillas and left them in strips}
    4 ounces shredded Montery Jack Cheese

In large saucepan combine water, broths, undrained tomatoes, onion, and pepper.
Bring to a boil.
Add chicken, reduce heat.
Cover and simmer 10 minutes.
Add corn, chili powder, cumin and black pepper.
Simmer covered about 10 more minutes.
Place tortilla strips (or crushed) in bottom of each bowl
Ladle soup into bowls.
Sprinkle with cheese.

I have to admit I was a little disappointed in this recipe. I added triple the cumin and extra chili powder and it was still rather bland. I will work on this one and see if I can increase the flavor. It was easy to make with lots of good veggies in it. I’ll take any suggestions!! Ah, well.

