it can also be used to make sweet chocolatey almost – but not quite – candy bars. Or at least says Dorie in BFMHTY.

This week, thanks to Lillian of Confectiona’s Realm, the TWD bakers made Dorie’s Chocolate Oatmeal Almost Candy Bars.And it was good. And I don’t think I could ( or should) eat Oatmeal like this for breakfast. It was good. But it was really sweet. I mean REALLY sweet. Almost too sweet for me, but TMofTH really liked it.

Instead of using a square/rectangular baking sheet, I used a round pottery tart pan (Christmas Present) and made these bars more like a pie. Oatmeal crust, oatmeal topping with chocolate in between.I only made 1/2 of the recipe, but that really gave me too much of a bottom crust (the best part). But I’m not complaining. It was good!!!

I did make a couple of changes (so what else is new…..)

    I used cashews rather than peanuts
    I left out the raisins