If you had asked me six months ago what orzo was I would have answered with a blank stupid look on my face. But that was then, and this is now. And I love orzo.

According to Wikipedia…

    Orzo (from Latin hordeum, sometimes called Italian rice) is Italian and means “barley”, from which orzo was originally made. However, in common usage in the United States, orzo is understood to mean rice-shaped pasta, slightly smaller than a pine nut. It is frequently used in soups and baked casseroles. Despite its rice shape, orzo is made not of rice but of hard wheat semolina.

So when my friend Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table chose Ellie’s Lemon Chicken Soup with Orzo I was excited. I have to admit I had made it before when I first got The Food You Crave and the Fam really enjoyed it. When Kayte chose it meant I got another chance to make it (not that I NEED an excuse…..). YAY!!

What’s not to like. Chicken. Lemon. Thyme. Veggies. Delicious. It was easy to make. And I made it the same week I made home made Italian Bread. Perfect together.

I did have one problem. Both times I made it a little of the egg curdled in the soup. It didn’t affect the taste, but it did make the broth less than clear.<PThis is a good filling, healthy (DUH!!) soup. Try it. You'll like it. Honest. Thanks, Kayte. This was a great pick.