I started with the TWD baking group back in July 2008. Since that time we have baked cakes, cookies, brownies. We have made meringue (floating islands), creme brulee, rice pudding. Some have been complicated and intricate. Some have been so simple. But they have all (well 95%) been good. This week’s baking fun was Swedish Visiting Cake chosen by my friend Nancy of The Dogs Eat the Crumbs.

This is an almond flavored sponge cake baked in a 10″ skillet (if you have one). One bowl. One skillet. 10 minute prep. Bake. DONE and DELICIOUS!!

I followed the recipe except I increased the almond extract by 1/2 tsp and decreased the vanilla extract by 1/2 tsp. I liked the extra almond flavor. I also put a piece of parchment in the bottom of the skillet just in case. It came out perfectly.

I have to tell you I usually don’t rate the recipes I bake/cook, but I am going to make an exception – this is one of my very favorite desserts – EVER!!! Top 5!! for sure. And I’m not sure what the other 4 are, but….

When I had to pick in January, this was on my list. It just LOOKED so good. So I am very glad Nancy chose it. Thanks, Nancy. It was a great pick.

Let’s see how the other TWD bakers liked it. The recipe will be on Nancy’s site or you could just buy Dorie’s Book: Baking from My Home to Yours.

Visit –>