What is it?? Does my freezer just provide prime breeding grounds?? Do other people sneak in at night and put their left over naners in my freezer?? Why do I have more bananas everytime I open the door??

Whatever it is I have GOT to use some of the bananas. My Friend Di suggested a gorgeous bundt cake, but I knew I needed something with frosting.

I found this one in Southern Cakes by Nancy McDermott

    Banana Cake with Chocolate Frosting
      2 cups AP flour
      1 tsp baking soda
      1 tsp baking powder
      1/4 tsp salt
      3/4 cup (1.5 sticks) butter, softened
      1 1/2 cups sugar ( I used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 Splenda)
      3 eggs
      1 tsp vanilla extract
      1/2 cup buttermilk
      1 1/2 cup (or 3 1/2 medium) mashed naners

Preheat oven to 350°.
Grease/flour 2 9″ cake pans (This is a cake recipe, I just made cuppys)
Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt. Stir well
Combine the butter and sugar in a large bowl and beat well (abt 2 min).
Add eggs one by one and then vanilla.
Beat well for 2/3 minutes more scraping down bowl until batter is smooth.
Stir in 1/2 flour with a large spoon just until it disappears into the batter. {Nancy suggests using a large spoon instead of a mixer “-the good old fashioned way-” to keep the cake tender}
Stir in buttermilk and remaining flour.
Gently fold in mashed bananas.
Bake 25 – 30 minutes until cakes are golden brown and spring back when t5ouched in the center.
Cool 10 minutes in pans on wire racks then remove from pan to finish cooling.

    Chocolate Frosting
      1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
      1/3 cup cocoa
      1/3 cup evaporated milk or Half and Half (I used Half and Half)
      4 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
      1 tsp vanilla extract

Combine butter, cocoa and milk in a medium saucepan.
Place over medium heat and baring to a gentle boil.
Cook, stirring often, for about 5 minutes until cocoa dissolves into a dark, shiny essence. {This never happened for me. I had a chunky mix, but when I mixed it with the sugar it came out perfectly.}
Remove from heat and stir in the sugar and vanilla.
Beat with a mixer at low speed until you have a smooth, thick frosting.

The cuppys were really tender and delicious. You could taste the banana but it wasn’t overpowering. AND they were really soft and tender. They would be perfect by themselves as a muffin.

The frosting was, eh, how do I say this… You will fight your kids off so YOU can lick the beater!! It is Slap Yo’ Momma good!! It is roll on the floor and go limp good!! Yes, it IS that good. I felt deprived just rinsing the extra out of the bowl and off the whisk. It is a simple milk chocolate frosting that I will now put on ALL my chocolate cakes/cuppys/ brocalli/mac and cheese. Just kidding – maybe NOT on the mac and cheese!!

But!!… I didn’t like it on the cuppy. The chocolate overpowered the banana. Together they were not a couple. Divorced – they were both perfect.

Try them together or apart. You’ll be glad you did.