It is summer. It is hot – already. It is the beginning of Ice Cream Season. Vanilla!! Chocolate!! Coconut!! Yes, Coconut!! And I made it for Dorie’s

    Banana-Coconut Ice Cream Pie

The Pie, as Dorie wrote it is perfect, except for one small thing. It was supposed to be made with Banana/Chocolate Ice Cream, but…. I found out from last weeks cuppys that I don’t like these two rather strong flavors together. So I used Coconut Ice Cream Instead.

The crust for Dorie’s Pie is more like a nest for the Ice Cream. Made simply with butter, coconut and LU Petit Beurre cookies (Which, unbelievably, I found at Wal-Mart) it provides a crunchy frozen base for the soft Ice Cream and Bananas.

Crust – Banana Layer – Ice Cream Layer – topped with Banana Slices. Oh, yeah, ths is good. I am glad I made just 3 minis because I would be hard NOT to eat the whole pie All. By. Myself.

Thank you, “Spike” for a great beginning to the Summer. YUM!!! You can find the recipe (and a beautiful picture of a slice of the pie) on her page. OR… just go out and buy Dorie’s book – Baking From My Home to Yours. Go ahead, you know you want to.

    Coconut Ice Cream

1 can Cream of Coconut {NOT coconut milk!}
1/2 cup Half and Half
1 – 2 Tbl Rum {to your taste}
2 tsp Vanilla extract
1 cup (or so) of toasted unsweetened coconut.


Toast the coconut in a dry skillet until golden brown. Remove from heat.
Mix the liquid ingredients and chill thoroughly.
Churn as per the instructions for ice cream maker.
Add most of the toasted coconut just before the ice cream is done, saving enough to sprinkle the top of the pie(s).


Ordinarily I would have used coconut milk, but didn’t have any. By using the Cream of Coconut I didn’t have to use additional sugar. I didn’t find it that much sweeter. It did take a long, long time to chill. I don’t know if it was because of the Cream of Coconut or I just didn’t chill it long enough before. In the end it was fine.

