When I first got married my Hub’s grandmother was still alive. Every year she would visit from Pennsylvania and one of the goodies she made was a Delicious Nut Roll. She was about 41/2 feet tall and cooked like a fiend. Since I have been working on my Hub’s genealogy I have found out she was first generation American with her Father immigrating from Croatia in 1912 and her Mother from Austria in 1896. I can honestly say this recipe is from my Little Ol’ Eastern European Granny!!!!

My MIL’s sister wrote the recipe down

As you can tell, it’s lacking a few steps/instructions. I watched her make it once or twice (years ago) so have filled in the blanks.

    Povitica Dough

      2 pkgs (4 1/2 tsp) yeast
      1/4 cup warm water
      3 egg yolks
      1/2 cup sour cream
      1 stick butter
      3 Tbl sugar
      4 1/2 cups flour

Dissolve yeast in water.
Mix together yolks, sour cream, butter and sugar in bowl of mixer.
Add flour in stages until all incorporated. (You may need more water or flour to get the right consistancy.)
Knead about 4 minutes by hand or with dough hook in bowl.
Divide dough into two balls.
Roll each ball into a rectangle about 12 x 16. Dough should be rolled thin.
Even up the sides with a small knife.
Spread nut filling to within 1/2 inch of all sides.

Roll up on long side.

Place on baking sheets and let rise for about 1 hour in a warm place.
Brush top with egg wash
Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

    Nut Filling
      1 1/2 lbs nuts, chopped. {I used walnuts, almonds, pecans. mix up the 24 ounces anyway you want, I used about 8 ounces of each.}
      5 or 6 egg whites
      1 tsp vanilla
      1 cup sugar

Mix nuts and sugar together.
Beat egg whites until stiff.
Add vanilla and beat until incorporated.
Mix in nut/sugar mixture
Mix with nuts.
Use about 1/2 of nut mixture per roll. Allow nut roll to cool before slicing.

This is the first time I had successfully made the nut roll. I had made it before but the recipe I used then had way too much butter and the dough ‘exploded’

The MIL and I decided the problem was too much butter. I was so glad when she finally found her recipe.

I still want to experiment with this until the dough is more like a bread dough rather than a pastry. But for now, this is my entry for Bread Baking Day #31 – Nut Bread. This is also the 3rd Anniversy for Bread Baking Day. Bread Baking Day #31 - 3rd anniversary and giveaways (last day of submission July 1st)Make sure you visit 1x umruhen bitte for the round up on July 4th and see what fabulous bread bakers there are out there. Thanks, Zorra, for creating such a fun way to introduce new breads.