I told my son last night that if it wasn’t any good we would eat out.
We ended up at Dairy Queen.
But only for dessert. Thankfully.
For Blizzards.
AFTER we ate a wonderful Curry.

I do love curry. And if I am cooking just for me, Curry is always my first choice. I have one recipe I have used for years. It is a yellow curry. And it’s pretty good. But it was time for a change.

    Indian Chicken Curry
      2 tsp ground red pepper { I only used 1/2 tsp, but Cayenne}
      2 tsp curry powder
      2 tsp chili powder
      1 tsp salt
      1 tsp ground coriander
      1 tsp ground ginger
      1 tsp ground cumin
      1 tsp ground cinnamon
      3 Tbl butter
      1 cup chopped onions
      2 cloves garlic, minced
      1 lb skinless, boneless chicken breasts, 1″ pieces {I used boneless thighs cause that is what I had}
      1 8-ounce carton plain yogurt
      1 6-ounce can tomato paste
      5 cups cubed peeled baking potatoes (about 2.5 lbs)
      4 cups water

Combine first 8 ingredients.
Melt butter in a Dutch oven over medium heat.
Add onion and garlic, cook 5 minutes stirring frequently.
Stir in spice mixture, cook 5 minutes stirring frequently.
Add chicken, cook 10 minutes, stirring frequently.
Combine yogurt and tomato paste and whisk together well.
Add yogurt mixture, potatoes, and water to pan. {I used chicken broth and only about 1 cup}
Bring to a boil.
Reduce heat to medium and simmer 1 hour stirring occasionally.

Serve over rice.

It’s not very photogenic. It’s the taste that counts. And it tasted FANTASTIC!! The spice! The heat!

It was perfect with Naan spread lightly with garlicky olive oil. (Sorry no pics – had to eat fast before it cooled)

The recipe for the curry came from Cooking Light Magazine (some time early this decade).

And the only reason we ended up with Blizzards is because my dessert wasn’t ready in time.

    Pista Kulfi

Kulfi is an Indian ice cream that is often flavored with cardamom, cinnamon, or saffron. Mine is based on Manjula’s kulfi. While she freezes hers in a mold I used my ice cream maker and put it in small molds after taking it from the machine. Flavored with cardamom and topped with pistachios it offers a cool refresh after the spice of the curry.