When am I going to learn to trust Ellie? I have yet to be disappointed in her food (even tho’ sometimes the Guys aren’t impressed!). As I was putting part of this week’s dish together I was thinking there is no way this is going to taste good. But!! I was wrong. So very wrong!! What were we cooking?? Salmon!!

Specifically – Salmon Cakes with Ginger-Sesame Sauce!!

Salmon Patties make an appearance often in this Louisiana household. They are so easy and I have been using the same recipe for years. It was time for a new one. And here came Ellie with just what I needed. The recipe I have used just uses eggs, cooked potato, onion, and canned salmon. Ellie’s is completely different. Instead of potatoes she uses Whole Wheat Bread as a binder. (I made my own because I just could not bring my self to buy brown sponge at the store.) Most of the other items in the patties is standard except for one – chopped water chestnuts which Ellie says adds some Asian Flair. I think this is the reason it was not a big hit with the family. Ah, well. I liked it. And it was even better with the Ginger-Sesame Sauce. That was the reason I just knew this would not be any good. Boy, was I wrong.

This simple sauce made with mayo, yogurt, sesame oil, ginger, and soy sauce and it was tart and refreshing with these patties. Usually the patties come with tarter sauce, but this is So. Much. Better. So much!!! In other words I really enjoyed the Salmon Cakes. So, thanks, Sarah, for this pick. Delicious!! 1/2 recipe gave me six nice sized patties. You can find the recipe on Sarah’s Site and also on The Food Network Site. It is also, of course, in Ellie’s The Food You Crave. You won’t be sorry when you make these. (Even though they are really hard to make pretty in the pictures.)

I needed a side dish so I turned to Ellie (it is all about her food here, anyway…) and made her Ratatouille.

It is full of fresh eggplant, zucchini, garlic, basil, and onions as well as canned diced tomatoes. It all comes to gether really quickly. And deliciously. In So Easy Ellie pairs this with Snapper. It worked just as well with Salmon.

I made my own Whole Wheat Bread (medium size loaf) for this one.

    1 cup water
    1/4 cup butter
    1 egg
    2 Tbl sugar
    1 1/2 tsp salt
    2 cups bread flour
    1 cup whole wheat flour
    1/4 cup nonfat dry milk
    1 1/2 tsp yeast

    Place all ingredients into bread machine. Just that easy. And it is really good bread. Soft crumb perfect for toasting.