Thank you, Nick. I am no longer mentally allergic to:

And that is because today I made this:

    Sfincione: Palermo Focaccia

According to Best of Sicily Magazine.

    Sfincione is a thick Sicilian pizza, or more precisely a focaccia, topped with tomatoes, onions, a few anchovies and perhaps grated casciocavallo cheese, seasoned with a dash of oregano. Outside Italy, the term “Sicilian pizza” is used to describe all kinds of things, but until the 1860s sfincione (loosely translated “thick sponge”) was the kind of “pizza” usually consumed in Sicily, especially in the western part of the island.

And thank you Nick for giving me an easy, tasty, wonderful pizza and Focaccia dough. How easy? You mix the ingredients. Let them rise. Put the risen dough into the pan. Let it rise and bake. No kneading. That’s right, NO KNEADING!! And so much rise it seems impossible.

In order to make the Sfincione the pizza dough has to be made first. The recipe makes a 12″ x 18″ focaccia to which one adds a rhin layer of sauce made from tomato puree (sauce), sauteed onions, and anchovies. I almost left the anchovies out as they are not my favorite food, but you couldn’t really taste them as they are chopped up and added into the sauce.

I loved this Sicilian Pizza. I only made the focaccia 1/2 size (12″ x 12″) because I wasn’t sure how I would like it, but it was thick and flavorful and I don’t think I will ever order pizza again. If you want the recipe you will have to buy Malgieri’s The Modern Baker since we agreed not to publish the recipes. I did find a great short video of Nick making focaccia which will show you just how easy it is to make.

Other members of The Modern Baker Challenge will be making this so check out how they did. And get a copy of Malgieri’s book – breads, cakes, scones, tarts, pies, cookies – something for everyone.

