Tarts are fun to make. They can be round, rectangle, or square. They can be sweet or savory. You can use a pie-like crust or a crumbly no-roll crust. So many ways you can have fun with food!!

I am so ‘sweeted’ out that making a savory tart was perfect. Also perfect was that this was the first selection I made from the Modern Baker Challenge Section – Savory Tarts and Pies.

This was supposed to use fresh white and yellow corn, but this time of the year that is not easy to come by. I made 1/2 of the recipe using frozen yellow corn which gave me enough ‘pudding’ for six mini tarts. One 16 oz bag worked just fine. I ‘shredded’ about 2/3 of that in the food processor (thanks Phyl). Cream, chives, green onions added to the mix made this a tasty creamy savory tart.

Liked it, but I bet it would be so much better with fresh corn. So, come August……

I know Phyl made this Saturday right before I did. I’m sure others in the group will be making it soon. Check out the Challenge. Join in if you have a copy of Malgieri’s Modern Baker.