January is going to be Chocolate Month with the TWD group. And the first chocolate treat this month is

    Midnight Crackles

and the name was appropriate since I was actually making them close to Midnight on New Year’s Eve. Sipping Eggnog. Baking Cookies. Perfect way to spend the last day of 2010.

Dorie was right about craving these. A ‘double dose’ of chocolate is enough to make any chocolate love make midnight sojourns into the kitchen. Crackly crisp on the outside. Fudgy on the inside. Not so good with eggnog, but perfect for dipping into a big glass of cold milk . Joshua, Dorie’s son, was right about that one.

The only trouble I had with these was the dough was so incredibly crumbly. Tracey mentioned not chilling the dough for the full time Dorie suggested and Caitlin said that worked for her. So I left the dough out for a little longer before making into cookies, but to no avail. Never could roll them so I mounded them. Worked. I think I may have just made the dough too dry. The cookies were still tasty.

Laurie and Jules of Someone’s in the Kitchen selected this week’s recipe, which can be found on the Tuesdays with Dorie site here or on page 74 of Baking: From My Home to Yours.

Check out all the Crackles with the TWD members.

And lest we forget – This is the THIRD anniversary of Tuesdays with Dorie. Three years of baking cookies/pies/cakes/flans/tarts/ and other miscellaneous goodies. Not many recipes left. Some I have loved. Some liked, some not. But it is all part of exploring baking with Dorie.