Cold days mean perfect days for soup. Warm. Filling. Comforting. And that is exactly what this soup was. Filled with carrots, celery, tomatoes, mushrooms, and barley this basic beef veggie soup was really tasty.

      Beef and Mushroom Barley Soup

I shared it with my SIL and MIL and they really liked it. Especially the barley. And that was good because this was the FIRST time ever I have had barley let alone put it in soup. I didn’t even know where to look for it. I do now and I will add it to my regular veggie soup each time I make it.

This was such good soup. I hope you try it – soon. You can find the recipe in Ellie’s The Food You Crave on page 89. I also found it at google books. And thanks to Jennifer of The Rookie Baker. This was her pick this week.

And visit CEinMB to see how much, I hope, the other members liked this soup.