I THINK I did this right. I’m really not sure. But what ever I did I ended up with a delicious fudgy chocolate cake!!

Topped with whipped cream and sprinkled with cocoa and cinnamon it was quite tasty. But it looked horrible from the get-go.

It started out all flat and cracked (which Dorie said it would) and I thought it would be hard and crispy since I had to make it in a 9″ springform rather than the suggested 8″. And it was a little flatter….

…than I expected it to be. But it was also a lot fudgier than I expected it to be. And that is NOT a bad thing.

when it tastes as good as it does.

The cake calls for 1/3 cup of espresso or strong coffee, which almost kept me from making this cake as I am NOT a coffee liker. But I forged ahead and made the cake as written. And am I ever glad I did. The coffee was almost ‘invisible’ in the taste and just enhanced the flavor of the chocolate. WHEN will I learn to TRUST DORIE!!!!

But anyway, it was a hit and I will make it again.

Of the three ways Dorie suggested serving it we had it served warm but there is still some left in the fridge so will try it baked and chilled as well.

Thanks, Dorie, for another delicious chocolate dessert.

The other members of did some cake baking this week so go visit with them and try a slice of their Double Chocolate Mousse Cake.

You can find the recipe on page 447 of Dorie’s Around My French Table. Come join in the fun!!