As many of you know, several of us are working our way through Malgieri’s Bake!. It is a great cookbook with not only great recipes but lessons on baking techniques. While I have learned a lot and broadened my sweet horizons with the TWD group, sometimes I need some lessons in crust, biscuits, or the like. Bake! provides those.

I’ve only been on board for three other TwitterBake-Alongs for Bake!!

And this fourth one is AMAZING!!!!

Florida Brownies

Chewy! Fudgey!! With a crackly top!!! A wonderful chocolatey treat. The All American Dessert. The Picnic Sweet. And I have an idea that these will see many a picnic when the weather turns warmish outside. Phyl and Kayte and I made them Sunday last. But we couldn’t try them until Monday because they are supposed to chill out over night. They were hard to resist but worth the wait.

The recipe called for 8 ounces of unsweetened chocolate, but I just didn’t get out to find some so used semisweet and cut down on the sugar. I found a helpful page for subbing chocolate. 1 ounce semisweet = 1 ounce unsweetened + 1 Tbl sugar. I left off 8 Tbl (1/2 cup) of sugar since I made 1/2 of the recipe which was enough for an eight inch square pan.

We aren’t publishing the recipes (altho if I find them online I’ll put the link) so you will just have to go find Malgiere’s Bake! And then you can join us weekly.

Next – Danish Cheese Pockets – My Pick!! (Which was supposed to be this week, but I’ve been a little preoccupied so Kayte picked up the slack. Thanks, Kayte.)