Over the past few years I have discovered that I love making bread. Any kind of bread. I’ve made almost all of PR’s breads in The Bread Bakers Apprentice (along with my Buddies on Twitter). I have made several types of bread from various other books and blogs. So when I saw that FFwD’s pick this week was bread, I was EXCITED. YAY!! Another Bread. Except for one small detail – THIS isn’t a yeast bread – It’s a quick bread!! I have to admit I was a little disappointed. But, trust me, that disappointment did not last!!!

Savory Cheese and Chive Bread

It is quick!! It is easy!! And it is Very TASTY!! Close your eyes and imagine a loaf full of cheese and herbs. What’s not to love about that!!

The recipe calls for gruyere or cheddar or any good strong cheese. Unfortunately all I had at the time was mild cheddar. Good, but the flavor just didn’t come through enough. The recipe also calls for chives (DUH!! Look at the name!!) but when I went to snip some it appears my little chive plant had gone to the great greenhouse in the sky. I used herbs de provence instead. Good Choice as it turns out. I used about 1.5 Tbl of the dried herb and it was just the right amount. I also used about 2 tsp. of Chacher’s Creole seasoning. Just enough ‘umph’!!

My only disappointment was the mildness of the cheese flavor. Next time, and soon, I will use a sharp cheddar or the gruyere and maybe add in a little Vermon Cheese Powder to up the flavor. I do love cheese bread. Dorie also suggests adding other herbs, so may use an Italian mix. Maybe add some fresh roasted garlic!! Oh, that sounds good, too!! So many ways you can change this little bread around.

And it’s great toasted with a little butter for Breakfast!!

If you want the full recipe you will have to find Dorie’s Around My French Table. It’s on page 34. And you’ll find so many other great recipes You won’t be sorry!!!