There is one thing we Southerners love!! CORNBREAD!! In any way, shape or form. Hushpuppies with Fried Catfish. Skillet Cornbread. You have seen the BBA Cornbread on here. As well as Fried Cornbread. We (well, they) have made Dorie’s Savory Corn and Pepper Muffins, and her Great Grains Muffins. Now we can add one more Corny delight to the list:

    Corniest Corn Muffins

These muffins were very similar to the ones I already make. Dorie’s use buttermilk (mine just use milk), 6 TBL sugar (mine only has 4), and Corn. Other than that, the same. And these were just as good. The whole kernal corn added another layer of sweetness and flavor the the muffins. They were really easy to mix up. In fact, Kayte and I made them Monday afternoon after school. Not in the same kitchen mind you, but together in spirit. The cornmeal I used was medium stone ground and it may have been a little too coarse. There were some hard bits in the muffins. And the next time, I think I will some cheese to the mix and maybe use really fresh corn instead of frozen. But they were still quite TASTY!!

Thanks to Jill of My Next Life for her tasty pick this week. The recipe will be on her blog.

You will notice there was a ‘+’ in the title. That is for the other TWD pick I finally had a chance to make.

    Toasted Almond Scones

These were DELICIOUS. There were so many great review I knew I would have to go back and make them. And the review were right. They were great. I made the whole recipe but only baked 4. The other 4 are in the freezer waiting for their turn in the oven.

Thanks to Mike of Living out West. I was so excited when I saw his pick and then didn’t get to make them. But knew I would have to. So very glad I did. Love these scones! And you can find the recipe on Mike’s blog.

Okay, One more!! I also made the…

    …Chocolate Oatmeal Drops

which were chosen by Caroline and Claire of Bake with Us.

I have to admit I didn’t like these — at first. I tried one just after they cooled a little and they were TOO chocolately (which is unsual for me) but after they had cooled completely I really liked them. A lot!! But then they ARE chocolate and oatmeal. What’s not to love. So, Thanks Claire and Caroline for a tasty pick. And you can find the recipe on their blog as well.

Okay, that’s it. That’s all the catching up I have been able to do.

With all the great reviews on the Pots de Creme they will be the next Make-up I do.

Thanks for y’all’s patience over the last few weeks. I appreciate y’all stopping by and sticking with me.

.

