Okay, First I want to apologize to Ellie. And then to Kayte. I looked at this recipe and went – ewww!! How can you put butternut in stew? I am NOT making this!!!

But then I decided I had to make this weeks CEinMB pick because My Buddy Kayte picked it and she has good taste.

I sure am glad I did because it was DELICIOUS!!

    Aromatic Beef Stew with Butternut Squash

If you like stew you will like this. If you like exotic flavors you will LOVE this. With the ginger, cumin, cinnamon, and garlic it reminded me of a Moroccan Tangine. And with the butternut squash it was a delightful but healthy dinner.

This stew is tomato based and served with couscous. Did I mention how delicious it was?? I will definitely make this one again.

The only (small) change I made was in the meat. The recipe calls for a pound of beef stew meat. When I make stew I used beef and venison, so half of the meat was venison. AND instead of using the oven for 30 or so minutes, I took Kayte’s lead and used the crockpot. I put the crockpot on high and 5 hours later my entire house smelled absolutely fabulous. The meat and the squash were unbelievably tender and everything melded together for a flavor that was very exotic. Ihave to admit it is supposed to be garnished with parsley and toasted almonds, but I completely forgot. Oh, well. It was still GOOD!!!

Make this stew. Make it now. The recipe will be on Kayte’s blog, but you can also find it HERE. It is also on page 176 of Ellie’s So Easy.

You can see how the other members of CEinMB like it, visit the blogroll and see.