I was finally back in my kitchen and ready to Bake. Cook. Blog. And then the internet decided to go on a “walk-a-bout” so now I am behind again on blogging and posting. Thus the Two-fer!!
This week the bakers of Tuesday’s with Dorie sat down to enjoy a cache of cookies.

    Cornmeal Shortbread Cookies

And oh, my, they were tasty. Now we are talking Shortbread Cookies here – Butter, Sugar, flour. Just those ingredients alone make a devine cookie. Now add lemon zest to the mix and you have a flavorful little treat. Go one step further and add cornmeal and you get a flavorful buttery lemony cookie with extra crunch. Loved them!! And, as Dorie suggested, they were perfect with a cuppa.

These are on the repeat list – definitely. So thanks to Valerie of Une Gamine dans la Cuisine there is another cookie for my cookie jar and cookie baskets. You can find the recipe on Valierie’s blog.

    **************************************************************

Last week I made Jeanette’s pick for TWD … but since I was internetless I didn’t get to post it.

    A Tourtely Apple Tart

Dorie said that a Tourte is a covered tart, meaning it has a top crust. Another layer of goodness since the crust was the Sweet Tart Dough with Nuts. (I used Pecans.)

I used Granny Smith apples and some pears from the orchard which I canned last summer. The two together gave a great taste. Pecans show up in the tart and instead of the (optional) raisins I used dried cranberries which gave it little tang to the filling. I also didn’t read the recipe completely and only made one recipe of the dough, but it worked out fine with the tart pan my Daughter gave me for Christmas, which is deep but not very wide.

Good Stuff!!

And even though the apples turned a little browner on me than I wanted it was still tasty.

Especially with a scoop of Vanilla Bean Ice Cream. YUM!!

You can find the recipe for this on The Whimsical Cupcake – Jeanette’s Blog. She has some lovely pictures of her Tortely Tart. Mine should BE so pretty!! Thanks Jeanette. Tasty Pick!!

You can find all the TWD bakers on the <a href="http://www.tuesdayswithdorie.wordpress.com&quot; "TARGET="_window"TWD Website. So go visit and see their cookies and tarts. And get Dorie’s book – Baking From My Home to Yours. You won’t be sorry. I haven’t been.

