Lemon Pie!! Cheese Cake!! What do these have in common? Nothing! Unless you ‘combine’ the two to make this Tart from Malgieri’s The Modern Baker

    Lemony Cheese Tart

Cheesecake is my favorite dessert. EVAH!! Lemon Pie is The Hubs favorite dessert. Almost EVAH!! Lucky for us Malgieri combined both of these flavors in a lovely little tart with a sweet crust.

Since there are only two of us I made only 1/2 of the filling recipe which actually gave me enough for 4 small 4.5″ tarts. I made the whole recipe for the dough knowing I could use it for other tarts in The Modern Baker

The filling includes creamcheese and sourcream which gives it the cheesecake texture. The lemon comes from lemon zest. {And I added about 1/2 tsp of Lemon Oil to increase the flavor}.

The tart is topped with a sweetened sour cream glaze which sets as the tart finishes baking.

Good Stuff!! But I would like more lemon in it. Next time!!

You can find this one on Page 173 of Malgieri’s book. Try it.

This is part of the Modern Baker Challenge.