Drop biscuits. I love making drop biscuites. No rolling! No cutting! Just mix, drop, bake, and eat. And if you are Dorie you don’t just make biscuits, you make …

      Maple Cornmeal Drop Biscuits

People, there are not just any biscuit. They are crunchy, subtly sweet biscuits. The crunchy comes from the cornmeal which adds extra texture to the biscuit. The sweet comes from the Maple Syrup you add to the batter.

I loved the flavor of these biscuits. Mine were a trifle dry and crumbly, but that is probably my fault.

I have a couple of tips if you are making these.

    DO NOT use medium stone ground cornmeal. The crunch is a little TOO much.
    DON’T over bake them. That is why mine were a little dry. Even tho’ I only baked them for about 12 minutes it was too long.

But I did love the flavor. They are really different from the Southern Girl Biscuits I usually make.

Dorie suggests butter and jam with them, but they were delicious with a drizzle of Maple Syrup.

These biscuits were brought to you by Lindsey of A Little Something….Sweet.
You can find the recipe on her blog and in Dorie’s Baking from My Home to Yours on page 24.