Trust Dorie!! Trust Dorie!! Tru….ah. Whew!!

That was my mantra while making Pots de Crème for the very first time. Now, this is NOT the first time the TWD bakers have made POC, but it was the first time for me.

      Caramel Pots de Crème

And they were really quite easy, well, almost. First you melt the sugar to make the caramel. Okay! Got that! Then you stir in the warmed cream and milk. Okay!! Dorie said the sugar may seize – and it DID!! MAJOR!!! I ended up with a hard rock of caramel in a lake of warm cream. Oh, NOOOO!!! But, I trusted in Dorie who suggested we just stir and it would smooth out. Trust Dorie!! Trust Dorie!! Thanks Dorie. That worked and I ended up with a lovely mix which I added to the egg mixture. Into the ramekins, into the fridge. Perfect!! These had almost a flan-like texture with a deep caramel flavor. (Hubs said it tasted like coffee.)

Half of the recipe was enough to make 4 ramekins of deliciousness. Definitely a repeat here in the near future. AND, I’m not afraid of caramel any more!! YAY DORIE!!

This week’s delicious dessert was brought to us by Peggy of Peggy the Baker! who started her blog last January just to record her progress through Dorie’s Baking from My Home to Yours. Thanks, Peggy. You can find the recipe on her blog, (or on page 388 in BFMHTY). Even though we are close to the end of the baking adventure there are no bad recipes just continued deliciousness. June looks DELICIOUS!!

Go visit the other bakers of TWD and enjoy their adventures with POC.