Normally I am not a summer soup fan.

    That has now changed.
      Thanks, again, to Dorie!

      warm-weather vegetable pot-au-feu

Dorie describes traditional pot-au-feu as, “a mix of hearty cuts of meats, root vegetables and a warming-down-to-your-toes broth….” But this is NOT a traditional pot-au-feu, it is a “harbinger of warmer times.” There is not a lick of meat in this soup. In fact the only protein is the poached or boiled egg served on top of a warm bowl of barely tender carrots, shitakis, potatoes, spinach, and asparagus to which I added zucchini, and yellow squash.

I finished it with a drizzle of sun-dried tomato coulis since Dorie said we could basically add any summer veggie we had and since my tomatoes are not quite ready yet, I added them through the drizzle instead. Now, if the corn would just come in…..

I cannot tell you how much I actually made. Dorie’s ingredients come together for 4 servings, but since I didn’t really measure anything….

>Please visit the other members of French Fridays with Dorie for their versions of the wonderful, tasty, light summer pot-au-feu!!

And you can find the recipe on page 378 of Dorie’s around my french table which was just named Cookbook of the Year by the International Association of Culinary Professinals. YAY!!!! Dorie!!!