…the best thing you can do is make PESTO. Pesto is so versatile. Most of the time you find it in pasta dishes. Or on Chicken. I’ve made Bread using Pesto. That was GOOD!!

According to Wikipedia…

    PESTO is a sauce originating in Genoa in the Liguria region of northern Italy (pesto alla genovese), and traditionally consists of crushed garlic, basil and nuts blended with olive oil and cheese. The name is the contracted past participle of the Genoese word pestâ (Italian: pestare), which means to pound, to crush, in reference to the original method of preparation, with marble mortar and wooden pestle.

So, anyway, a friend of mine came for a visit and brought me a bag of basil from her garden. (I have some in mine, but it is a small plant.) I was excited because now, instead of buying pesto, I could make my own.

Start out with…

    2 cups fresh basil, washed.
    2 – 3 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed
    1 cup grated pecarino romano cheese
    1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
    3 – 4 Tbl EVOO
    1 cup cashew pieces

Place the nuts and basil in the FP and blend until smooth.
Add the cheeses, garlic, and process until smooth.
Slowly drizzle EVOO while pulsing the FP. It doesn’t take much.

And – voilà – PESTO!!

Most of the pesto recipes call for pine nuts or walnuts. As a participant of a Foodie Exchange I was fortunate enough to receive a wonderful box of goodies from Rossella who lives in Milano, Italy. In the box was a jar of pesto alla genovese. What made this pesto different from others I had tasted was the cashews. AFter that I decided that I would use cashews rather than the usual nuts (I have also seen pesto with pecans!)

I didn’t use any extra salt as the cashews were lightly salted and the pecarino romano is also a little salty. The Parmesan was an after thought but it mellowed out the taste of the pesto. I did use a little too much garlic (I KNOW – is that possible?) so I would use smaller cloves next time.

What I liked about this pesto was the little sweeter flavor from the cashews. Next time – pecans!!

Mixed with some Pasta it made a perfect lunch. I don’t think I will ever buy Pesto again.