When I hear that word I always think of San Francisco. I really don’t know why. It just seems to come to mind. San Francisco Sourdough!!

But now I have KOLIN SOURDOUGH!!

Sourdough bread is the next section of Reinhart’s Bread Baker’s Apprentice. And I have been away from it way too long. So when Kayte said she was getting back into the bread mode and making the sourdough I knew I couldn’t let her go it alone.

I had to redo my starter. I thought it had ‘died’ but after ‘talking’ to Phyl I found out I could have saved it. Thanks for Sourdough 101, Phy. Next time I will know that…

    The greyish liquid floating on top of the starter is called “hooch”. It’s basically just dead yeast cells. When my starter has a little hooch on the top, I stir it back in before feeding the starter.

If I had known THAT!!!


I finally got around to making the first bread in the BBA Sourdough section –

    Basic Sourdough

It needed to be sour-er. I needed to let the starter develop more. The bread was a little ‘flat’ but not bad. It was good toasted.


The next bread in the section was the New York Deli Rye.

What makes this bread unique is the addition of chopped onions which are sweated until soft, cooled, and then added to the barm to help the flavors blend and develop before being mixed with the rest of the dough to bake. This is a two day bread.
And worth every minute/hour/day it takes to make. I only made 1/2 of the recipe which gave me a nice loaf. It rose nicely – unlike the last sourdough

– and then it sank in the middle….

but it was much better in flavor.

1/2 of the recipe gave me a nice 9 x 5 loaf of bread.

I liked it much better than the basic, but I think next time I will add less onions. They were rather overpowering. But then I have never had REAL New York Deli Rye, so I have nothing to compare it with. But I do know it will make corned beef sandwiches or any other kind for that matter. Except maybe, PB & J!!

Next on the list… 100% Sourdough Rye. Whew!