There is nothing better first thing in the morning than a cuppa tea and a fresh baked scone. IMO!! And if the scone is Dorie’s it’s extra better. LIke many of the Bakers I know this has become the goto recipe for scones. It is so easy to put together and so tasty.

    Cream Scones

I have used this recipe lots of times. I love the taste. They are perfect plain or with a touch of butter or with the traditional Clotted Cream and Strawberry Jam. But I haven’t loved the texture. Mine have always come out rather crumbly. I have tried kneading them more. I have tried kneading them less. I have tried baking them less. I have tried baking them more. Nothing worked. Nancy suggested a bigger egg, but my eggs were already 61gms. And by the time she mentioned it mine were already in the oven. With extra cream. And that worked. I added about 1 1/2 tsp cream and they came out moist and NOT CRUMBLY!! YAY!! Now I have the perfect scone. Which may be a dangerous thing!! Dorie suggested cutting into 12 wedges, but I like mine a little bigger so I cut 8. Baked 4 and froze 4 for later.

This week’s TWD choice comes from Lynn of Cafe LynnyLu where you can find the recipe.

Or on page 27 of Dorie’s Baking From My Home to Yours.

