I spend entirely too much time reading books that aren’t ‘fun’. I don’t mean that what I read isn’t enjoyable, but I read them for a reason. History books. Cookbooks. Anthropology books. I love these types of books, but once in a while I like to read something that doesn’t require a lot of thinking. Just for ‘fun’! Or, as Sarah put it, “…a perfect relaxing read for the beach or the airplane.” As I started reading The Sugar Queen I thought to myself that I wouldn’t enjoy this book. It just seemed too syrupy.

I. Was. Wrong.

This was just what Sarah said it was, “..a perfect relaxing read for the beach or the airplane.”

What would you do if you opened your closet door and found a woman sitting there? A woman named Della Lee. A woman who was nothing like you. A woman who had had a rough life. A woman who was about to change your life. Completely!!

This is the story of Josey Cirrini. The only daughter of a wealthy woman. She has no friends, no life to speak of, and is the sole caretaker for her mother. Her mother is cold and unbending. She doesn’t like change. And when she starts seeing changes in her daughter it unnerves her. What changes? Josey falls in love. Josey finds a friend. Josey starts to become a person in her own right. Why?

The woman in her closet.

I enjoyed this much more than I thought I would. It was just a simple, easy read.

Each chapter is named for a sweet treat:

    Snow Candy.
    Lemon Drops.
    Rock Candy

It wasn’t until the third chapter that I realised that the title to each chapter was a clue to it’s contents. But you had to go back and look at the title for that ‘ah, ha’ moment.

This month’s pick is from Karen’s Blog: Shortbread South. I did enjoy it, Karen. Thanks.

You can find out how the other readers liked it by finding the blogroll at
The Kitchen Reader.