Egg whites.
Lots and lots of egg whites.
In my freezer. Taking over my Freezer!!
Imagine how happy I was to see Mike (of Ugly Food Dude!!) picked Dorie’s egg white extravaganza…aka…

    Cocoa Alomond Meringues

A mix of whipped egg whites {only 4, but still..}, finely ground almonds, sugar, and two types of chocolate – cocoa powder and melted bittersweet.

These were crunchy on the outside – hold one hand under your chin as you bite down crunchy – and chewy, chocolately on the inside.

A perfect combo.

I added coconut to half of the mix after I had already baked up a couple of dozen. Those were good, too.

I know a lot of people don’t like meringues but I am not one of them. Now that I know how easy they are I will be making some more. {BTW if they crumble a lot, they are good as an ice cream topping.}

Go visit te other TWD members and see if they all like the meringues.

You can find the recipe on Mike’s blog or on page 155 of Dorie’s Baking From My Home to Yours.