If you want a perfect pic-nic sandwich this is the one. A sandwich in a pocket. How more portable can you get than that?

And it is a good pic-nic sandwich, too. Simply, it is a whole wheat pita filled with

    romaine {I used leaf lettuce.},
    cucumber slices,
    turkey {Should be turkey breast, but I didn’t have any the day I wanted to make it so used deli turkey.}
    and mint.

But the lettuce and turkey are not the stars of this sandwich. What really gives this pocket flavor is the.

    Feta Spread
    3/4 cup(s) (4 ounces) crumbled feta cheese {I found Tomato and Basil Feta}
    3 tablespoon(s) nonfat plain yogurt
    1 tablespoon(s) fresh lemon juice
    2 teaspoon(s) dried oregano
    1 teaspoon(s) finely grated lemon zest
    1/4 teaspoon(s) freshly ground black pepper

In a medium bowl, combine the feta cheese and yogurt with a fork, mashing any large chunks of cheese. Stir in the lemon juice, oregano, lemon zest, and pepper. The spread will keep for up to 5 days in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

The sandwich called for mint leaves, but since I used the Tomato/Basil Feta I used basil leaves instead.

This was a good sandwich. I made 1/3 of the recipe and that was enough spread for one good sized Pita sandwich.

This weeks CEinMB choice was Jennifer’s of The Rookie Baker and you can find the complete instructions for the sandwich HERE!!

You can also find the recipeon page 80 of Ellie’s So Easy.

Craving Ellie in My Belly is a small group cooking/baking from Ellie Krieger’s recipes. You should join us.