There is a little nip (very very little) of fall in the air. There is some (hopefully) rain coming in. The temperatures are a little more bearable. It is close enough to fall to begin enjoying some soup for lunch. Specifically –

      corn soup

And how delightful it is. Slightly sweet from the fresh corn subtley fragrant with the mix of thyme, bay leaf, and rosemary. Deliciuos from the first bite to the last.

I made 1/2 to 2/3 of the recipe (kinda sorta). Instead of 3 ears of corn, I used 2. And then cut the rest of the ingredients in half. That was enough for 3 nice servings. I suppose you could increase or decrease the ingredients to suit your needs and taste. I didn’t have any celery – even after a trillion trips to the store – so I used celery salt and then decreased the salt in the recipe. That worked just fine.

Before blending the soup looked very fresh

with the yellow corn and the bright orange carrots floating in the milky broth. Not real heavy, the soup is just right for a light lunch.

The recipe is on page 60 of Dorie’s Around My French Table.

And please visit French Fridays with Dorie to enjoy the other servings of corn soup.