It’s Thursday! That means it is time for Pasta. Not just any Pasta but Hazan’s Pasta.

    Linguine al Ragù di Pesce

What I like about all of Hazan’s pastas is their lightness. They are not swimming in a heavy tomato sauce that hides the flavor of everything else. Don’t get me wrong I like a heavy speghetti sauce sometimes, but these light ingredients are so different than what I am used to.

It’s not often, as Americans, we eat FISH with pasta. Shellfish, yes, but NOt FISH!! Hazan calls for Atlantic snapper but also suggests grouper, halibut or striped bass. I had white perch (we have friends who fish and share!) and it worked out just as well.

The perch held up nicely with the initial cooking but reheating left overs (and even tho’ I only made 1/2 the recipe there was enough for 3 servings) meant the lighter fish fell apart more. But it was mighy tasty. Mighty Tasty!! The other ingredients included a light mix of onion, fresh chopped tomatoes, garlic, and pepper flakes mixed with the pasta (and I used spaghetti because I keep forgetting to buy linguini – need to make it…).

This recipe is on page 103 of Hazan’s Thirty Pasta Pasta.


Kayte made Spaghetti al Cacio e Pepe so go check it out. Glennis is also a ‘member’ of Thirty Minute Thursdays.

