Last month brought an early Christmas from a good friend and blogging buddy, Leslie!! In the mail one day was Everyday Indian by Bal Arneson who also has a show on The Cooking Channel. I have always made a little Indian food, but it was infrequently. Now with an introduction to Bal’s recipes through her book and show and Madjur Jaffrey’s Indian Cooking (Thank you, again, Kayte!!) I am cooking it more and enjoying it more. While I used to have one go-to curry recipe I now have lots of variety. Like this one:

    Chicken Masala
    * 2 tablespoons grapeseed oil {Bal says we can use olive oil}
    * 1 onion, finely chopped
    * 2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh garlic
    * 2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh ginger
    * 1 green chile, finely chopped
    * 1 tablespoon coriander seeds {didn’t care for whole, will used ground next time}
    * 1 teaspoon fenugreek seeds
    * 1 tablespoon garam masala
    * 1 teaspoon Spanish paprika
    * 1 teaspoon turmeric
    * 1 teaspoon salt
    * 1 tablespoon tomato paste
    * 1 pound chicken thighs, boneless
    * 2 cups tomatoes
    * 2 cups chopped potatoes {Bal doesn’t specify peeled or not so I did 1/2 and 1/2}
    * 1/2 cup loosely packed fresh cilantro leaves
    * 2 cups water

Put oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat.
Add the onion, garlic, ginger, and chile, and saute for 3 minutes, or until the onions are softened.
Add the coriander seeds, garam masala, paprika, turmeric, and salt and toast for 10 seconds and then add the tomato paste.
Stir well and then add the chicken thighs, turning them frequently as they cook.
Add the tomatoes, potatoes, cilantro, and water and mix well.
Bring the mixture to a boil and then reduce the heat to a simmer. Cover with a lid and let cook for about 20 to 25 minutes, or until the chicken is cooked through.
Serve the chicken masala with rice.

So delicious. So easy.
But…. I didn’t care for the whole coriendar seeds popping in different bites so I will use ground next time. I will also increase the garam masala just a tad to increase the spicey flavor. The lesser flavor may be due to the fact I left out the chilis. I like spicy, but I don’t like HOT!!

Kayte made the Chicken Masala for her new blog line-up: World Cuisine Wednesday and her family really enjoyed it. Leslie and I made it together Thursday night and she will be posting it next week. But I know she liked it and her Hubs LOVED it!! So it is definitely a hit all around.

