A couple of weeks ago I got this email. From Phyl.

    “On October 9, I’m hosting a pumpkin roundup. This ain’t your momma’s pumpkin pie. Instead, I’d like to feature a meal’s worth of pumpkin recipes in the following categories:

      •Main course
      •Side dishes
      •Bread — savory and sweet

Of course I HAD to participate. I mean, this is Phyl!! Had TO! All I had to do was decide which category. My time is such a shambles right now I took the easy way out – Bread! Yeast Bread!

And as you can see, I made a braided loaf with the dough.

To be honest I’m not sure if I liked this bread. The pumpkin flavor and the spices were like a dream you wake up from and cannot quite catch up to again. The flavor was very subtle. VERY subtle. It was good toasted. It was good buttered. But I am still not sure.


1 cup water
3/4 cup pumpkin {I used canned.}
2 2/3 Tbl veggie oil
2 2/3 Tbs honey
2 tsp salt
1 1/3 cinnamon
2/3 tsp allspice
1/3 tsp nutmeg
1/3 tsp ground cloves
2/3 cup Whole Wheat Flour
3 1/3 cup bread flour
2 1/2 tsp yeast

This is actually a bread machine recipe from The Bread Machine Cookbook by Donna German but I adapted it to oven baking. I used the machine to make the dough, but you could put it together following instructions for ANY yeast bread. In the machine you put all the ingredents in the container (in the order listed) and let the machine do all the work. After the kneading was completed I let the dough rise over nite in the fridge. Then I let it sit on the counter for about an hour. Then after dividing the round of dough into 3 equal pieces and braiding them I let them rise another hour or so. Bake at 45 minutes at 350°. Or until the bread is about 180 degress in the center.

I hope this bread fits in with the other cooks/bakers for this Virtual Pumpkin Meal. Phyl will have the round up in no time so check his site – Of Cabbages and Kings Soon!!