1. Large in quantity; abundant.
    2. Giving generously.

And that is exactly what I found when I went to my ‘assigned’ blog for October’s Secret Recipe Club:

Si is a stay-at-home Mom who happens to Live In Bountiful, Utah. She loves to cook and bake. And her kitchen is BEAUTIFUL!!

So many wonderful recipes to choose from. Desserts. Breads. Soups. Sides. Game. It has everything! And everything looked delicious. And every time I went back to look at the recipes again and try and choose there was a new one up. Just made it harder to make that final choice. Finally I ended up with three but I couldn’t choose between them so I did all of them.

    For Breakfast:

    Fresh Cranberry Apple Scones

How could I pass up SCONES!!! On Si’s blog these are actually Fresh Cranberry Scones. I searched and searched for the bag of cranberries in the freezer to no avail. I was determined I was going to make these scones so I subbed in an equal amount of diced Granny Smith Apple. O. My. Goodness!! The scone recipe was perfect and with the apples there were little bits of tart mixed in with the sweetness of the scones. They are spinkled with Turbinado sugar before baking and then topped with Whipped cream after. Si used Almond but since mine were made with apples I made a cinnamon cream and then sprinkled the whole thing with Cinnamon Sugar.

    1 cup fresh cranberriesdiced apples
    1/4 cup sugar
    3 cups flour
    2 teaspoons baking powder
    1/2 teaspoons salt
    3 tablespoons sugar
    6 tablespoons butter, softened
    3/4 cup buttermilk
    1 teaspoon vanilla
    1 egg, beaten
    Turbinado sugar

Peel and chop apples coarsely. Set aside.
In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt and 3 tablespoons sugar. Cut in softened butter. Add buttermilk, vanilla and egg. Mix well. Add apples and any juice in bowl to dough. Mix in a little milk if dough is too dry. Knead lightly a few times until all dough is gathered, and forms a ball. Place on lightly floured surface and pat into two 5 inch or one 10 inch circle, about 1 inch thick. Sprinkle with Turbinado sugar. Cut each circle into 8 wedges. Bake on greased cookie sheet for 15 minutes at 400 degrees. When scones are done, remove from oven and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.
Serve with Cinnamon Cream.

    Makes 8 large or 16 small scones.

Cinnamon Cream:

    1/2 pint whipping cream
    1/4 cup powdered sugar
    1 Tbl {Or to taste} ground cinnamon

Whip cream until it starts to thicken. Add powdered sugar and cinnamon. Continue whipping until stiff. Serve with scones.

    For Lunch:

    Butternut Squash Soup

I had some Steamed Butternut Squash sitting in the fridge. This was the perfect way to use it.

    1 sweet onion, chopped
    1 Butternut Squash peeled, seeded and cubed. About 5-6 cups
    1 tablespoon olive oil
    1 tablespoon brown sugar
    dash nutmeg
    salt and pepper to taste
    4 cups chicken or vegetable broth
    3 tablespoons cream or half and half, optional

Place onion and olive oil in large stockpot cook over medium heat for about 5 minutes. Add squash, brown sugar and seasonings. Continue to cook for about 5 minutes. Add broth and cook until squash is soft. Using an immersion blender, blend the ingredients in the stockpot until smooth. Add more salt and pepper to taste and cream, if desired. Garnish and serve.
Approx 6 servings. {I used the heavy cream and it gave the soup a nice deep flavor.}

Si a curry variaion listed on her blog but of course I remembered that AFTER I had eaten the soup. NEXT TIME!!!!

The soup was wonderful. I really didn’t think I would like it, but I did and I will make it again. It is Butternut season after all.


Can you handle just one more?? Thought you could!!

    For Dinner:

    Veggies Lover’s Quesadilla

You can find this recipe on Si’s Blog. Super Simple and very adaptable to individual tastes. And very, very tasty!!

I made mine with Zucchini, mushrooms, Spinach, PepperJack Cheese, red peppers, onions, and Pesto I had made before. I think Si used her veggies raw. I decided to stir-fry mine crisp tender.


Thanks, Si, for all your delightful recipes!!

If you are somewhat adventurous and like to ‘meet’ new people you really should join up with Secret Recipe Club:which was founded by Amanda. It is great fun and a fantastic way meet fellow foodies AND their food.<P