I have to admit I am NOT a veggie lover. There are a few I eat. I have added a couple more over the years. So when I saw I had been ‘assigned’ Amanda’s Vegetarian Blog – Dancing Veggies – I was somewhat disappointed. I just KNEW I wouldn’t find anything I would want to cook. BOY!! Was I wrong. After looking thru Amanda’s recipes I had 13 I KNEW I had to make. But then I knew I had to narrow it down. And that was NOT easy!! I finally settled on 4 and disappointed myself when I only had time to make TWO!! **SIGH**

For Lunch this week I made Amanda’s

Since I am a major pasta fan I knew this would be high on the list. While ‘regular’ carbonara has bacon, Amanda subbed in Baby Bellas. Since the only Bellas I found looked, well, eh, MEH!! I subbed in White Buttons. Mixed with the sweet sauteed onions and the Parmesan Cheese it was rich, creamy, and delicious.

Even though I had just baked bunches of cookies for Di’s Cookie Exchange I added another cookie with Amanda’s

    Apple Cinnamon Cookies.

As I was making these I thought they would be really good with some diced apple. And they were. And if I had found Amanda’s other Apple Cookie recipe I would have found she had done that AND added Butterscotch chips. So my cookies were actually a combination of the two.


    1 1/4 cup flour
    1 1/2 tsp baking powder
    1/4 tsp salt
    1 stick butter, softened to room temperature
    2/3 cup white sugar
    1 egg
    1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
    1 1/2 tbsp apple juice cider
    1 tbsp cinnamon
    1/2 diced apple {I used Gala}
    1/2 cup butterscotch chips {added to 1/2 of the batter}

1. Preheat oven to 375
2. Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt.
3. In a large bowl blend the butter and sugar. Add the egg, beat well, then add the vanilla, apple juice, and cinnamon and blend together being careful to not over mix.
4. Add in diced apple and chips.
5. Spoon the cookies onto a sheet and bake for 10minutes. Allow to cool on the sheet for 5minutes before removing to a cooling rack.

I drizzled some caramel on some (my drizzling skills leave much to be desired!) but it didn’t add to the flavor of these sweet little cookies. They were just fine before I fooled with them.

Now, about that Creamy Double Potato Soup, Stuffed Shells, and especially the Cookie Dough Cheese Cake Bars.Oh! Oh! Wait!! Potato PEROGIES!! And I thought I wouldn’t find anything I would like on Amanda’s Blog. MISTAKE!!!!

If you want to join in the fun join us for the Secret Recipe Club. New blogs to explore! New recipes to try!!

AND check out what everybody made this month.