I am trying to get back into bread baking. It has been way too long since the fragrance of fresh baked bread has wafted throught my house. I didn’t feel like making just plain white bread so into my recipes I went. This one caught my eye! And the ingredients just made it interesting. I haven’t made Sweet potato bread in a long time and the one I did make was more like cornbread since it was made in a cast iron skillet.


    1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons milk (70° to 80°)
    1 egg, lightly beaten
    1-1/2 teaspoons salt
    4-1/2 teaspoons butter
    2 tablespoons brown sugar
    1/2 cup chopped canned sweet potatoes, drained
    1/3 cup miniature marshmallows
    3 cups bread flour
    2-1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast

In bread machine pan, place all ingredients in order suggested by manufacturer. Select basic bread setting. Choose crust color and loaf size if available. Bake according to bread machine directions (check dough after 5 minutes of mixing; add 1 to 2 tablespoons of water
or flour if needed). Yield: 1 loaf (about 1-1/2 pounds). Editor’s Note: Use of the
timer feature is not recommended for this recipe.

While this is a bread machine recipe I didn’t make it in the machine. At least I didn’t bake it in the machine. I let the machine make the dough but I finished it in the oven in a loaf pan. I baked it at 375F until interior of the loaf was 180F.

I read through the ingredients and knew I had to make it when I found mini-marshmallows in the list. How creative is that?

The crumb was tight and the flavor had just the hint of sweet. But you could really taste the Sweet Potato in it. Not the marshmallows, though. They blended in with the total bread. But it was interesting to have them in there. Bread was good toasted too. And with Sweet Potato Butter.

Found this one in the November/December 2000 Taste of Home’s Quick Cooking.

Don’t you love the vintage Spice of Life Loaf Pan. That was a wedding present in 1973. Still have some of the casserole dishes too. They still bake stuff just as well as they did in 1973!!!