Well, it isn’t EXACTLY Spring in the Deep South but with the weird weather we have been having {It was 73 yesterday!} it sure feels like Spring. Which is why I decided to fix this particular Hazan Pasta for today.


    Fettuccini Penne Primavera

That doesn’t look like Fettuccini, you say! Seems when I went to fetch it from the pantry it wasn’t there. So Penne looked like the next best one to use. And it was. The little tubes held little splashes of the sauce and veggies: asparagus, red pepper, zucchini, celery, carrot and onion which had been sauteed. Well, I steamed the asparagus while I was cooking the pasta…

…over the pasta water. {Hazan says to gently boil it but I like steamed veggies better. I wish, now, I had also steamed the zucchini and peppers so they would have not gotten quite so soft while cooking.}

After all the veggies are cooked you add cream and parsley and cook until the cream is reduced then toss it gently with the pasta. Sprinkle with Rarmigiano-Reggiano and you have a wonderderful veggie meal, or a filling veggie/pasta side. Either way, it is very tasty!!

You can find the recipe on page 46 – 47 of Hazan’s 30 Minute Pasta. Check with Peggy and Kayte and see which pasta they chose for 30 Minute Thursday.

