Whole Wheat bread is NOT something our family eats very often. I know it is better for you than white bread and I often add whole wheat flour to other things I bake – quick breads, etc. I actually like Whole Wheat bread but I am really the only one. Which is why when I made this last basic bread from Reinhart’s Bread Baker’s Apprentice I only made enough dough for one small loaf.

Reinhart’s bread had a wonderful rustic texture and a nice nutty flavor. It was good toasted and plain. Nice bread.

I used my “Nancy Pan” which is long and narrow. It was actually a little long for just one dough recipe so I put a ‘stopper’ on one end.

That kinda-sorta worked but the bread did not rise much over the edge of the pan. But it is just fine for me and small sandwiches.

There are only two breads left in the BBA book. We should finish them by mid-March. So follow along with me, Kayte, and Nancy as we finish the breads.

BYOB Badge