I had an invitation from Lisa the other day. An invitation for

    Bread Baking Day #47.

When Lisa said it was CHOCOLATE BREAD I knew I had to participate.

So…I give you…

    “Cheater’s Chocolate Challah”

I called it “Cheater’s” because it was ‘braided’ more like a streudel than a challah bread.

After rolling dough into a rectangle I sliced the sides and spread the center portion with a chocolate butter filling, sprinkled in some chocolate chips, coconut, and chopped pecans.

I let the bread rise for about 90 minutes then brushed with a egg wash and sprinkled on some Danish Sugar Pearls (Thank you, Di!)

After baking the bread for 25 minutes I allowed it to cool and then drizzled some chocolate ganach and caramel (Dorie’s recipes) over the braid and sprinkled on some chopped pecans.

You think the drizzle and pecans was too much?? No!! Neither did I!!!

What I ended up with was a sense of chocolate in the bread with a sweet chocolately crunchy filling and a wonderful enhanced chocolate flavor from the drizzle.!! The caramel just added that extra UUMMPH!!


    I simply made a white bread dough (use your favorite) to which I added 1/4 cup coco powder.


      1/2 cup butter, softened
      3 Tbl coco powder
      1/2 cup cream cheese, softened
      1/2 cup sugar

    Mix all ingredients together until creamy.

O! MY! I don’t know whether to count this as a bread or a decadent chocolate dessert. Either way it was WAY over the top..because I could!! And I am glad I did!!

AND I will do it again…because I can!!!!

Please check back with Lisa of Parsley, Sage, Desserts, and Line Drives who will put up a round-up of the Chocolate Breads after 1 March. I am sure there will be more decadence!!

Bread Baking Day #47(last day of submission March 1, 2012)