This week, the Baking with Julia pick is an old Jewish treat – RUGELACH.

Made with a cream cheese based dough it is a rolled up ‘cookie’ which is rolled in a sugar cinnamon filled with nuts and fruit and Lekvár, a thick jam or fruit butter. I had never heard of Lekvár so I looked it up.

    “Lekvár is a very thick, sometimes coarse jam of pure ripe fruit. Lekvar is of Central and Eastern European origin.”

After reading that I KNEW I would never find that here in Podunk, LA., so I was thankful there was a recipe in the book to make it. Two recipes, actually, one for prune and one for apricot.

While these were sweet and tasty these would not be a go-to cookie for me. Not because of the dough (which can be tricky to work with) but because of the dried fruit. Not a fan. But The Hubs liked them (but he likes Fruitcake, too!) so I would make again for him.

It was really easy to make the apricot Lekvár: boil some dried apricots until soft, puree with brown sugar and amaretto liquer. THIS is where I went wrong. I used Creme de Almond instead and a little bit TOO much. The alcohol taste was a little overwhelming.
Ah, well! We learn from our mistakes. But they were pretty!!!

The recipe is from Contributing Baker Lauren Groveman and is on page 325 of Baking with Julia which is a compilation of recipes from the PBS show of the same name.

Our hosts this week were Jessica of My Baking Heart and Margaret of The Urban Hiker. You can find the recipe on their blogs {and some lovely pics of the rugelach}. And after visiting them you can stop by the Baking with Juliaweb page and see other lovely cookies.

And if you want to join in the fun, you can do that, too.