Today may not have been the best day to bake meringues.

We had 5″ of rain last night and it IS still pretty damp outside.

Still….I wanted to use up some of the gazillion eggwhites in the freezer so I decided I wanted meringues.

Malgieri’s recipe was supposed to be Espresso Walnut Meringues but I was all out of walnuts. His variation was to use pecans and cinnamon. Good choice.

I THINK meringue cookies are supposed to be crispy. Mine were a little crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. That Wasn’t a Bad Thing!!

I did find the recipe on line at The Biscuit Pusher and she points out a mistake that I didn’t catch. While the ingredients call for 1 cup sugar the directions state,

    “Increase the speed to medium-high and whip in 1/2 cup of the sugar….”

And look though I did I never did find out what to do with the other 1/2 cup. Of course since I didn’t read the directions all the way through ayway I added a full cup of sugar!!

You can find this recipe on page 282 of the Modern Baker. And check with members of the Modern Baker Challenge to see their meringues.