I think Brownies are American’s favorite dessert. Plain. With nuts. Served with Ice Cream. Or ganache. Maybe caramel drizzled over the top. Plain is my favorite way. Just pure chocolate favor. But I don’t pass up brownies with nuts, so when I had some time I made Malgieri’s Sour Cream Brownies.

The only dairy in the brownies, besides the butter, is the sour cream. Since I made only 1/2 of the recipe that was only 1/4 of a cup. The sour cream added just a touch of ‘tang’ to the brownies and cut down on the sweetness. There are definitely nuts in these brownies. Malgieri calls for walnuts but suggests pecans work, too. I used pecans and almonds. Not bad, not bad!! And sprinkled some finely ground pecans on top. May have been a little too much in the nut department. But still good!!!

1/2 of the recipe was enough for 6 – 4″ x 2″ brownies made in the mini loaf pan.

You can find the recipe in Malgieri’s the Modern Baker Challenge on page 274. If you visit the >Brownie page for this recipe you will find some links for others who have made this one. Go! Enjoy! Make these brrownies.