April is going to be a busy month of baking. Since 2008 when The TWD Group started I have missed 9 of the recipes. I will try VERY hard to finish them this month. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

April 1, 2008, the bakers made Dorie’s Gooey Chocolate Cake. Basically it is the Molten Chocolate Cake that was so very popular years ago. I made one, once, years ago. This is the first one since then. The recipe is made in muffin cups which means everyone gets there own little chocolate cupcake with a warm liquid chocolate center. Unless they are made in MY kitchen.

I used a cupcake bundt pan and baked them for only 10 minutes. When we cut into them they were warm and wonderful…

….and SOLID!!!

    Lava fail!! Lava fail!!

But delicious with a touch of whipped cream on top. I will try those again.

The cake was chosen by Leigh of Lemon Tartlet where you can find the recipe. Or on page 261 of Dorie’s book.


From Warm Chocolate Cake we go to Ice Cream.

      Coffee PB Cup Ice Cream Tart

Dorie gave us lots of leeway with this Ice Cream Tart. While it was supposed to be made with coffee store bought ice cream I am not a coffee fan so I went with another variation. Using Dorie’s Vanilla Ice Cream base I made ice cream and tossed in some chopped PB Cup minis. Dorie made her crust with almonds but says we could use other nuts so I went with Honey Roasted Peanuts. Since the peanuts are salted I left out the salt called for in the recipe. THIS. WAS. GOOD. And so easy. Make a crust, throw in some ice cream and call it delicious.

Thanks to Jessica of Domestic Deep Thought for her cool pick. TWD made this on April 5, 2011. And after looking at Jessica’s tart I realized I forgot the layer of chocolate on the bottom of the tart. GOOD reason to make it again!Dorie’s tart recipe is on page 358 of BFMHTY on Jessica’s blog.


April 8th, 2008, was the day TWD bakers made Mary of Starting From Scratch‘s pick of this buttery Lemon Tart…

    The Most Extraordinary French Lemon Cream Tart

THIS was a very BUTTERY tart. VERY Buttery!! I served it with a little raspberry coulie

Dorie says to chill the custard filling until ready for use. I did that and it turned hard. I had to bring it to room temp plus in order to put it into the crust. Not sure what I did wrong, but…..

The butter flavor overpowered the lemon flavor. Again, I am not sure where I went wrong. Still good tho’! Mary’s blog is no longer live but you can find the recipe on several blogs including Ashley’s Eat Me Delicious or on page 331 of The Book.