Brioche dough is soft and silky and wonderful to work with. The TWD group made the Brioche Loaves in August 2011. It was my choice and I remember how lovely the dough was. The two selections I am posting today both use that same Brioche Dough.

    Pecan Honey Sticky Buns

There is no way I can describe how GOOD these were. They didn’t last long in this house. 1/2 of the recipe resulted in 11 buns. These are actually cinnamon rolls which are baked in a layer of pecans and caramel. The pan is flipped over to cool and the sweet, nutty glaze is on top of the buns. These are probably the best cinnamon rolls I have made in a long time. Not just because of the glaze but because of the brioche dough. It is soft and buttery. Chosen by Madame Chow of Madam Chow’s Kitchen the group made these May 27, 2008. The recipe is on her blog.


      ********************************

The other selection that used this Brioche dough was the Brioche Raisin Snails from March 18, 2008. I decided to wait and post these with the Sticky Buns so I could make the dough and have enough for both. 1/2 of the Brioche recipe was enough to make 1/2 of each of these selections.

Cinnamon rolls with Rum flamed Raisins and a sweet glaze. While Dorie called for raisins I used dried cranberries instead. I am just NOT a big fan of raisins. They worked out very well. I soaked and flamed them the same way Dorie suggested with the raisins. I wasn’t sure how they would work so I only put them in 1/2 of the buns. Now I wish I had gone all the way with them. The dough is spread with a pastry cream, sprinkled with cranberries, a cinnamon sugar mix and rolled up and sliced to bake. Like the Sticky Buns I made them in a small 8″ x 8″ pan and ended up with 9 rolls. The pastry cream sort of melted into the dough giving it a wonderful soft interior. Way good!! But not quite as good as the Sticky Buns. I would definitely make both of them again – often!! Peabody of Culinary Concoctions by Peabody chose this one. Thanks, Peabody, for making me learn to make Pastry Cream (pg 448) and making me practice, and I need lots, drizzling.

That almost takes care of May’s TWD picks. Well, almost. I still have the Tirimisu (May 5, 2009) to make. Guess there will be a catch-up catch-up.

The Sticky Buns are on page 51 and the Snails on page 56 of Dorie’s Baking From My Home to Yours.

