It has been quite a while since I have done an Ellie recipe. I just have not felt like cooking – at all!!

But I think I am out of my slump now and ready to hit the kitchen running!!

What better way to get back into it than with a nice healthy recipe from Ellie!

This is what Ellie said was, “…square in the comfort zone for me with all the homey flavors…” And she is right. All the same ingredients I put in my meatloaf except for the turkey. I have never really used ground turkey that much. But this wasn’t bad. We could get used to it. It does have plenty of flavor. Onions, Worcestershire sauce, ketchup, red bell pepper. Yep! Lots of flavor. The only problem I had was that it was pretty crumbly when I went to slice it up. It actually sat for about 45 minutes after cooking in a warm oven because an emergency errand came up. Ellie says to let it sit about 10 – 15 minutes. Not sure why it was crumbly because it was not dry at all.

One tip I learned. I use oatmeal in mine for filler but Ellie says to soak the oatmeal in milk before adding to the other ingredients. Did make it easier to work with!!

The recipe is in Ellie’s The Food You Crave on page 216. If you like using ground turkey you will like this meatloaf.

Please visit the other CEinMB members and see what they made this week.