Back in the 80s a favorite cake was a bundt cake called ‘Sock it me Cake’. It was a yellow cake with a nutty cinnamon swirl running through it. When I read the recipe for Nick’s Sour Cream Coffee Cake it reminded me a lot of that cake.

A slightly sweet yellow cake with a cinnamon, brown sugar, nut swirl. Or at least that was Nick’s ingredients. I decided to clear out my collection of streusel, swirl, and cake toppings. So my swirl had Nick’s ingredients plus cardamom, chocolate chips, nutmeg, and granulated sugar. I liked the cardamom and nutmeg in the swirl. I still have of the collection left. Maybe with some muffins?

The recipe can be found on page 232 of Malgieri’s the Modern Baker

And if you would like to bake along with this last section – Cakes – just visit the MB Challenge Website