Tonite I needed a simple, somewhat healthy way to end the evening. Dorie’s baked apples fit the bill.


This is not your typical baked apple which is cored, filled with goodies and popped in the oven for oven. Dorie has us slicing the apples thinly and then layering the slices with spiced sugar, orange zest, and butter. One Gala apple filled one cup just right. And then they cooked down quite a bit…


which means I ended up with only about 1/2 a cup full of apple. Good thing I could fill up the emptyness with some lightly sweetened whipped cream.

This one is definitely a keeper and so easy to put together it would be a crime NOT to fix it again, and again, and…

You can find the recipe on page 390 of Dorie’s around my french table. Please click on over to French Fridays with Dorie and drool over the other members’ apples.

{Dorie also said these could be baked for 10 hours in a low oven. I think I might try the ramekins in a slow cooker.}