I read that word on page 51 of Dorie’s around my french table. I had no earthly idea what it was. I read the ingredients and then cheered because I actually had what a few years ago I would have called an exotic ingredient in the pantry. Chick pea flour which two years ago I had never heard of. {Along with spelt flour, rice flour, semolina, fleur de sel, asefoetida, etc. etc. it is now a staple in the pantry.} I would imagine that is true for many of you out there in blog land. So.


What is it?

IT is like a crepe, or a skinny pancake, or a tortilla. It is a snack which originated in Italy, migrated to France where it is traditionally seasoned liberally with pepper.


Interesting! I made 1/2 of the batter and used 2 9″ cake pans and ended up 2 with soccas. barely. I am sure I made the first one two thick. Ah, well. Good!

Interesting! I really did not expect to like them. I was wrong. And with a little Garlic and Herb Goat cheese it was the perfect snack. Probably because of the fresh rosemary IN the socca! Definitely gonna make these often.

And if you want to see how the other member’s soccas came out just saunter on over the the LYL page.