I know what you are thinking. I am really really late with my SRC post. But I’m not. Honest. I changed groups and now I am with Group C. It’s a whole new world with lots of delicious blogs and new friends to make. So, you see, I am not late!

And I am starting with a blogger who had more than 500, YES, 500, recipes to choose from. Egad! It was a hard thing to just pick a couple I knew I could do before leaving town and then starting back to work. This time I chose all SIDE dishes from my August assignment – Kate is Cooking. Kate is in Indiana with her mate and sous chef, Connie, and has been blogging since 2009. So many many good recipes to choose from. And usually a good story to go along with them. Auto wrecks, parties, travels.

I am trying to finish up some dishes I had leftover so I had my main dishes picked out (not wanting to cook this month and have leftovers) but I didn’t have any good sides to go with them – until I started browsing thru’ Kate’s site.

I started with

P1010885

    Goat Cheese Mashed Potatoes

which matched up beautifully with some brisket. It is a very simple dish to put together.

    3 large baking potatoes
    1-2 T butter
    Big spoonful goat cheese {I used Garlic and Herb from our local goat dairy.}
    1 T chives, chopped
    fresh ground pepper
    a sprinkle of salt

Do not peel the potatoes. {I peeled half of them.} Dice them and cook them until they’re tender. Drain and stir in the butter, goat cheese, chives and pepper. Smash them with a fork.

Told you it was easy!


      *******************************

What’s the old saying – less is more? In this dish that is completely true. And this was so simple I cannot believe I didn’t think of it!

P1010881

Pasta! Specifically Garlic Spaghetti. Melt some butter, add a little olive oil and toss in some finely chopped garlic. Let the oil infuse for a few minutes then toss with the pasta. Add some salt and garlic powder. {If you ckeck out Kate’s recipe you can see I made mine a little differently.} Sprinkle with chopped parsley and Parm cheese. Notice there are no measurements. Kate didn’t have any either. She said just go with it. So I did. While she used it as a meal with a salad I used it as a side with some chicken. And since I had lots of garlic in the chicken it was perfect. AND! It was so good.

      ******************

Okay, one more. I couldn’t resist another simple side.

P1010899

    Individual Potato Gratins

Yeah, I know, that’s THREE picks from Kate’s many many dishes, but they were all just so simple and you always need sides for your meal, right?

Instead of using a large dish and layering TONS of potatoes all you need is one muffin tin and a few potatoes. Especially good when you are cooking for two. Here is her list of ingredients and my changes.

    “B” sized red potatoes {I used small russets.}
    salt
    freshly ground pepper
    garlic powder
    finely shredded romano or parmesan cheese {I used gruyere.}
    cream

Now for the easy part. Slice the potatoes into thin pieces. Layer the ingredients into the muffin pan – two potato slices then salt/pepper/garlic powder. Two more slices with seasonings and about 1Tbl shredded cheese. REPEAT! Ending with just salt and pepper on top. Pour 1 Tbl of cream over each gratin Bake at 400 for 30-35 minutes. {Mine were done in about 25 min.}

P1010895

These were just the right size and you can make as many or as few as you need. Ideal for us.

Okay. That was it. Well for the sides anyway. I couldn’t resist just one one…

P1010894

I HAD to, we needed them for something delicious and ‘handy’ for the road. BTW, Kate, Hubs says this is the best Blueberry Muffin I have made! The recipe is HERE along with another good story.

NOW, about those other 16 recipes I have pinned…..

You really need to go visit Kate

And while you are doing that check out the other bloggers in Group C and enjoy their dishes as well.

Better yet, join The Secret Recipe Club and join in the fun every month!!