When I think of French cooking I think of two things. Julia Child and HOURS of work. I mean all the prep, the long list of ingredients, the TIME!! French cooking is NOT for the feint of heart. Or at least I used to. With Dorie Greenspan’s around my french table only some of the recipes are complicated but not very. This week’s choice was FAR from long and complicated. 40 minutes! Yep, that’s it. 40 minutes!


What you have here is the staple of every GOOD Southern Pic-Nic French Style. Corn on the Cob! Yes, good ol’ fashioned corn on the cob, which, according to Dorie is NOT typically a French .

But, instead of boiling the corn it is baked in the shucks in the oven for 40 minutes. Deshucked, buttered, salted, and peppered. Simple and delicious.

Lucky for us we had some good corn from the garden so I have made the corn this way several times since it was posted as an August pick.

I am sure this was a hit with the other Doristas so check out their corny stories

The recipe is on page 336 of Dorie’s AMFT.